Somaticae – Catharsis

A1 Lamentation I
A2 Pointless
A3 Abrupt I
A4 The Leviathan
A5 Abrupt II
B1 Indifferent
B2 Abrupt III
B3 The Spectator
B4 Lamentations II
B5 Abrupt IV
12″ vinyl and digital.
Edition of 300
Released May 27th 2013
Play it on our Bandcamp page

« In 2011, we begin to think about doing a record label. We had been following Somaticae for some time and at this moment he was playing some art & punk gigs with a furious live of electronic improv, on the edge between hypnosis and noise. Two of these sessions became our second release, “Dressed like a bubblegum”, raising the interest of people like Surgeon, Perc, and Peter Van Hoesen ; his remix for Mondkopf ’s “Ease your pain” receiving praise from Ancient Methods as well as labels Downwards and Avian. But Somaticae had already moved forward, and in a matter of a few weeks, he was sending us what quickly and easily took shape as “Catharsis”, a ten track piece which is to be the first album release on In Paradisum. “Pointless” summarize its spirit : punk nihilism, techno repetition to the point of exhaustion, sharp percussions.
This music tastes like metal and blood, but a strange comfort comes out of it. Catharsis is a terrifying affair experimenting throughout ten disciplined and often brutal noise abstractions – primi- tive techno lost between petrifying epileptic atmospheres as well as in- tricately-layered drones – rumbling sonic investigations, wielding bar- barous kickdrums and rusted percussions to lacerate weakening flesh – blind lamentations of bone chilling voices and abrupt sounds – a sort of black mass supported by punishing percussions – alarming levels of feedback and distortions – a steep emotional breakdown turning in an emotional renewal. »


‘Pointless’ by Hugo Saugier

All tracks written and produced by Somaticae. Mastering by Artefact Mastering.
Artwork by Hugo Saugier.
© In Paradisum 2013